All About 12th Edition of Cricket World Cup


As you may have read in my earlier article, Cricket is being played in three formats – Tests, One-Day and T20s. In order to decide the champion of the game, the world cup is being played, in the One-Day format. I’ve covered a few vital information about its upcoming world cup, which begins at the end of this month.


2019 cricket world cup, starting from 30th May 2019, is the 12th edition of the men’s cricket world cup. The showpiece event is the most coveted award in the sport, going to be played between 10 teams. The world cup is always played in the One-Day format. The event is being held in the ODI format. England & Wales will play the host, for the 5th time overall, and the first time since 1999.


As a qualification criterion, eight teams automatically qualified based on their international One Day rankings. The last two spots were fought by six teams in the qualifier played in 2018. That was an intensely fought contest in Zimbabwe. Six teams were divided into two groups, where each team played two matches in the group. Top two teams from each group played the semi-finals, and winners of semi-finals played the final.


India, Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa, and Sri Lanka were the teams automatically qualified based on the rankings. West Indies and Afghanistan were the ones to enter through the qualification route. Looking at its rich cricketing history, West Indie being forced to enter through qualification was a tough pill to swallow for many cricket lovers.

Based on the recent form and match winning record, hosts England and India are labeled as favorites to win the competition. Australia – the defending champions – are the dark horses, who may surprise few teams to win the world cup. South Africa has been a force to reckon since their inception in world cricket, never to go beyond semifinals. Their fans are hoping that South Africa will break this jinx to wind a world cup this time.

Schedule Summary

The event will start on 30th May 2019, and go on for 46 days. The hosts England will play against South Africa in the opening match. Two semi-finals will be played on 9th July and 11th July respectively, with final to be hosted on 14th July, Sunday.


11 grounds over 10 different cities across England & Wales will host the world cup matches.

Here is the list of grounds & cities:


1. Kennington Oval – London

2. Lord’s – London

3. Trent Bridge – Nottingham

4. Country Ground – Bristol

5. Old Trafford – Manchester

6. The Cooper Association Country Ground – Taunton

7. The Rose Bowl – Southampton

8. Headingley – Leeds

9. Edgbaston – Birmingham

10. Riverside Ground – Chester-le-Street


11. Sophia Gardens – Cardiff

Do visit the ground and be the part of the historical event if you are in a particular city on a day.


Source by Nishant Desai

Afraz hassan

A Passionate About Sports..........

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *